National Catholic Register


Senators Opposed to Partial-Birth Abortion Ban

BY Jim Cosgrove

September 13-19, 1998 Issue | Posted 9/13/98 at 2:00 PM


The following senators voted against the partial-birth abortion bill (HR 1122) when it passed the Senate on May 20, 1997. Three of these senators are needed to change their position in order to override the President's veto. Arkansas: Bumpers (D); California: Feinstein (D), Boxer (D); Connecticut: Dodd (D), Lieberman (D); Florida: Graham (D); Georgia: Cleland (D); Hawaii: Inouye (D), Akaka (D); Illinois: Moseley-Braun (D), Durbin (D); Iowa: Harkin (D); Maine: Snowe (R), Collins (R); Maryland: Sarbanes (D), Mikulski (D); Massachusetts: Kennedy (D), Kerry (D); Michigan: Levin (D); Minnesota: Wellstone (D); Montana: Baucus (D); Nebraska: Kerrey (D); Nevada: Bryan (D); New Jersey: Lautenberg (D), Torricelli (D); New Mexico: Bingaman (D); Ohio: Glenn (D); Oregon: Wyden (D); Rhode Island: Chafee (R), Reed (D); Vermont: Jeffords (R); Virginia: Robb (D); Washington: Murray (D); West Virginia: Rockefeller (D); Wisconsin: Kohl (D), Feingold (D).

Data courtesy of National Right to Life Committee, Inc.